Saxophony is a suite of four pieces scored for 2 alto saxophones. piano and a string ensemble (4 violins, 2 Violas, 2 Cellos and a Double Bass).

For the most part the alto saxophones are to the fore (although none of the supporting instruments are exactly shrinking violets ...) and the pieces explore this instrument's expressive and rhythmic fortes, rather than its virtuosic capabilities.

Niagara Suite

This piece takes you on a a musical journey along the Niagara River, from Lake Erie to Lake Ontario.

The majesty of the river, and of course Niagara Falls, make this a memorable journey. But if you stop along the way you will also find numerous markers of past events - particularly those of the War of 1812.

Violin & Woodwind Quartet

A classically tonal piece, scored for Violin, Oboe, Clarinet and Bassoon. Each movement showcases one of the instruments.

Le Cirque du Vent

Variations on a theme for organ, alto saxophone and english horn. It's probably more accurate to call it variations on a phrase, since even the theme is itself built from a single recurring chromatic fragment!

It was originally written as an entry to a competition run by the American Guild of Organists.

Hubbard Variations

Scored for brass choir (3 Tpt., 3 Tbn., 3 Hrn) and based on a theme by British composer David Solomons.

The original piece tells the nursery rhyme story of "Old Mother Hubbard". I am indebted to David for kindly allowing me to use his theme.

String Quartet

A foray into serial techniques of composition (a.k.a. atonal or twelve tone music) and the large-scale use of retrograde. However, these techniques were used primarily as tools to generate ideas and moods, and the "rules" are not always followed strictly.

Placeholder Picture

© 2008-2019 Mike Roberts/Emarro Music.
All rights reserved.